Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Whether you're using the Standard or Professional Edition of Quartam Reports, this is the place to ask general questions about using this industry-level reporting tool for LiveCode.
Post Reply
JosepM
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:26 am

Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by JosepM » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:03 pm

Hi Jan,

Other issue I deal with the extra space when I use the "Stretch the field vertically" versus "Fixed heigth".
Same report with a field with the stretch option selected generated a extra blank lines between the rows. First I thought that maybe I add some extra return after the text but isn't the case.

To try simply change the dynamic resizing and compare the extra lines.

How can I solve this? I forget something to use the stretch option?

Salut,
Josep M

JanSchenkel
Site Admin
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:21 pm
Location: Aalst, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by JanSchenkel » Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:06 am

If there is no return at the end of the data, then the only thing I can think of right now, is that the heigth of the data field in the layout is too tall - this is considered to be the minimum height for the field and the engine wll only stretch, not shrink.

Could you elaborate on the data field? Is it plain, unicode, html or rtf text - or is it formatted using a Printf formula? Does it use a special font - and is it set directly on the field or inherited from the report settings?

Jan Schenkel.
Quartam Developer Tools for LiveCode
http://www.quartam.com

JosepM
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:26 am

Re: Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by JosepM » Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:48 am

Hi Jan,

The text is UTF8, this is the field expression.

unidecode(uniencode(sDetail["Description"],"UTF8"))

And the font used is Verdana, Helvetica or the used by the customer so I must adapt it to customers actual designs. The heigth I set to differents but ever left extra space between lines. Attach screenshot.
What is the minimum heigth?

Also I capture when I save and when I open the report again. In the image you can see how the "Detail Line Bar" is moved some pixels down when I the saved version is adjusted at 0 pixels.



Salut,
Josep
Attachments
Captura de pantalla 2011-07-28 a las 08.50.51.png
(10.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Captura de pantalla 2011-07-28 a las 08.51.11.png
(10.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Captura de pantalla 2011-07-28 a las 08.44.47.png
(55.27 KiB) Not downloaded yet

JanSchenkel
Site Admin
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:21 pm
Location: Aalst, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by JanSchenkel » Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:06 pm

Thanks for the additional information. I see you're converting from UTF-8 to UTF-16, and then converting to whatever the native single-byte codepage of the platform is.

Try changing the data field expression to:

Code: Select all

uniEncode(sDetail["Description"], "UTF8")
And then in the Inspector palette, change the option 'Format the result as' from 'Text' to 'UnicodeText'

If my memory serves me well, this solved the problem for Japanese field content for another QR user.

Let me know if that does the trick,

Jan Schenkel.
Quartam Developer Tools for LiveCode
http://www.quartam.com

JosepM
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:26 am

Re: Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by JosepM » Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:28 pm

Hi Jan,

The same issue, if I put the stretch the field vertically that is what happen.

The data is recovered from a datagrid array.

I need found a solution to this issue, so for reports that normally one page is enought the user need two pages.

Thanks in advance,
Josep M
Attachments
Captura de pantalla 2011-11-21 a las 13.24.55.png
(23.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet

JanSchenkel
Site Admin
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:21 pm
Location: Aalst, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by JanSchenkel » Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:21 am

Hi Josep,

I'm sorry, but I can't find a cause just by looking at the code and experimenting. Could you distill a reproducible scenario that I can step through with the debugger, and send it to support@quartam.com?
It doesn't have to be the complete application with an actual database, just a .qrl layout file and a stack with a single button that causes the problem to appear.

Thanks in advance,

Jan Schenkel.
Quartam Developer Tools for LiveCode
http://www.quartam.com

JosepM
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:26 am

Re: Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by JosepM » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:41 pm

Hi Jan,

I send to you but to a wrong email. I send you again to support.

Salut,
Josep M

BruceMP
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: Algeria
Contact:

Extra lines with dynamic resizing

Post by BruceMP » Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:17 am

v5.2 SP5 is the current release but I still see these lines after the RTF text beginning with "prof. dr."

Heres the problem: Its in the QRP file -- right-click the Rich Text item in the report and click Properties...
Now click Borders and not that "Between Lines" = Single. Set that to None and the extra lines are removed.

Post Reply